Australian of the Year tours Albany

Published on Friday, 30 April 2021 at 1:51:49 PM

This year’s Australian of the Year Award winners have hand selected a number of objects that reveal meaningful stories about their lives and experiences which are on display at the Albany Public Library.

A bronze nozzle from a firefighting hose, a well-travelled statuette of Ganesh and a symbolic painting are among the objects selected in the annual celebration of the award winners created by the National Museum of Australia and National Australia Day Council.

Albany is the first location hosting the Australian of the Year Award exhibition, which is touring Western Australia for the first time ever.

These special objects will be on display at the Albany Public Library until the end of May, when it then travels to the State Library of WA before heading to Tasmania.

The eight award winners from all over the country have overcome challenges, adversity and obstacles to drive important and necessary change in society and contribute to the wider community.

Mayor of Albany Dennis Wellington said it is a privilege to have the Australian of the Year Award exhibition in Albany.

“Recipients of the Australian of the Year Awards are some of the most inspiring individuals in the country, with this exhibition making the stories of their journeys more accessible to all of us,” he said.

“These eight objects reflect the personal values and beliefs of the eight recipients whether it be their culture, land, personal history, identity or fights for justice and allow us to engage with their stories more closely.

“I encourage the community to get to the Albany Public Library to experience this limited exhibition and experience the stories of those Australian’s who are changing our society for the better.”

Recipients of the Australian of the Year Award 2021 include; Dr Wendy Page (Northern Territory), Grace Tame (Tasmania), Donna Stolzenberg (Victoria), Tanya Hosch (South Australia), Professor Brendan Murphy (Australian Capital Territory), Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons AFSM (New South Wales), Dr Dinesh Palipana OAM (Queensland) and Professor Helen Milroy (Western Australia).

The Australian of the Year exhibition will be on display at the Albany Public Library daily until 29 May, please check the Library opening hours at

Back to All News